Wednesday, November 29

2023: Forty-three aggrieved APC assembly aspirants express dissatisfaction over primary elections in Bauchi

2023: Forty-three aggrieved APC Assembly Aspirants express dissatisfaction over primary elections in Bauchi

By Charly Agwam – Bauchi

Forty-three aggrieved All Progressives Congress, (APC) aspirants for Bauchi State Assembly have expressed their dissatisfaction over the just concluded APC State Assembly Primary elections in 11 local government areas of the state.

Addressing Journalists at a press conference on behalf of the 43 aggrieved members in Bauchi on Monday, the leader of the group, Saleh Nabayi said they were denied being part of the primary elections.

“Our party APC did not inform any aspirant that it is only serving members that will be given automatic tickets.

“We all obtained our forms as required by the constitution and followed all the instructions given by our leaders. We all waited for the Day of the primaries with our agents.

“But to our chagrin and utter dismay, we heard from the committee that in all state constituencies where there are serving lawmakers, they have been given automatic tickets, and that there won’t be elections in those areas,” he said.

Hon. Nabayi further called on the party’s Appeal Committee to, as a matter of urgency, instruct the National Working Committee of the party to order fresh primary elections in the eleven State constituencies.

They also inferred that, the already elected LG delegates are compromised and therefore, national working committee should also order fresh election of the LG delegates or direct primary elections should hold.

Our correspondent reports that the aggrieved members are those from Toro/Jama’a constituency, Lame constituency, Burra constituency, Ganjuwa East constituency, Shira constituency and Jama’are constituency.

Others are those from Katagum constituency, Dambam/Dagauda/Jalam constituency, Chinade/Madara constituency and Warji constituency.